Political Science

The Department of Political Science started it’s journey from the beginning, 1965 of the college. Political Science is a discipline, which is not only the study of politics but also the study of power issues from domestic, international and comparative perspectives. It entails understanding political institutions, ideas, ideologies, institutions, policies, processes, behavior, groups, ethnicity, gender, classes, culture, governments, diplomacy, law, strategy and war. In a single sentence the discipline is about peace, is about violence, and also about settlements. So, it is about day to day life.

Teaching Staff

Smt. Ajeya Sarkar, M.A., Associate Professor

Dr. Tulika Chakravorty, M.A.,Ph.D. Assistant Professor,  

Sri.Atul Ch. Biswas,M.A., M.Phil. Assistant Professor,

Smt.  Amrita Chowdhury, M.A. State Aided College Teacher, Category –II

Days for Observation  (2017 – 2018) and Departmental Activities for 1st year (Hons. 2017 – 2018)

  • Class Opening Ceremony / Orientation Programme: 1st August 2017 (Commencement of class, Distribution of Syllabus/Academic Calendar, Routine, Students’ Declaration)
  • Departmental Student Teacher meet: 5th September
  • 1st Class Test : 2nd week of September
  • Publication of Wall Magazine: 1st week of November and 4th week of February
  • 2nd Class Test: 3rd week of December
  • College Test: As per college schedule
  • Result Publication: As per college schedule
  • Guardian Meeting: End of January
  • Students Seminar: 1st week of December and 1st week of February
  • Special Class: February to March
  • Observation of International Day of Democracy (15th September), International Peace Day (21st September), Human Rights Day (10th December), National Youth Day (12th January) and International Women’s Day (8th March)
  • Up-to-date Notice Board as per  the activities of the Department